reformedmarchingbandgeek

Confessions of a Reformed Marching Band Geek

Remembering 9/11

on September 11, 2011

Not to sound like every other blog today, but I felt a need to share some thoughts about the anniversary of 9/11. Rather than my usual 9/11 activities (which usually consist of watching 9/11 specials on the couch with a box of kleenex), I chose to run a half marathon this morning. It was such a better way to honor those who sacrificed so much. It was a lovely morning in Chicago. Warm temperatures, blue skies-so much like that day ten years ago.

Ten years ago I was single and working in a nursing facility about an hour from my house. On the way there, they announced the plane striking the first tower. Once I got to the nursing home I asked the staff to turn on the television so we could see what was going on. By then, the second plane hit. We sat together watching in disbelief for most of the day. As a therapist at the facility, I spent a lot of time with residents (and staff) to help work through what they were thinking and feeling. Many of the residents I worked with had dementia. Women would tell me that their husband’s were on those planes or working in the towers even though most of their husbands died years before. Several men asked me to drive them to the recruiter’s office so they could re-enlist. While the day was surreal, it was these gentlemen who were in their 80s but were still willing to step up and fight for their country that remain in my memory.

September 11 will always be a day of sadness, remembrance, fierce patriotism for me. I don’t know if a 9/11 will come without some tears and pride. While the acts of the day were horrible, it truly showed what we as Americans were capable of. Personally, it changed my relationship with my husband. He never leaves without me telling him I love him. We check in with each other during the day. So many people lost so much that day. It reminds us to appreciate the time we have.

On this day of remembrance, find the things and people you are grateful for and take some time to truly appreciate them. Take a few minutes to remember what makes this country great and and celebrate that. In these ways, we can honor those we lost.

Leave a Reply

