reformedmarchingbandgeek

Confessions of a Reformed Marching Band Geek

The Princess Bride…and Sasquatch?

on November 19, 2012

AMC had the Princess Bride on when I  got home from work today. Score! I’ve only watched this movie about a billion times. Of course, the book is better (I’ve read it far less frequently, but I do have my favorite parts underlined and tabbed. Maybe reformed geek was a little presumptuous of me) but the movie is pretty awesome too.

I’m happily munching on snacks (of course we’re going to eat dinner, but Mr Grumpy wasn’t home yet and I’m hungry) and quoting lines before the actors get to them. As you sit in judgement of me, search yourself and see how many times you yell “hello! My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die” and get back to me. I haven’t seen it in a while, but it’s funny how the lines come back. It’s like falling off a bike, or college flashbacks.

ANYWAY, Mr Grumpy walks in, looks at what I’m watching, and doesn’t immediately ask for the remote to see if something interesting is on (seriously, I watch interesting stuff. He just doesn’t appreciate HGTV like I do. When I get my dream job and we have to move he’ll TOTALLY appreciate all of the time I’ve spent watching House Hunters) so I’m taking it as a win.

I get out dinner (sushi. From Sam’s. Stop judging). Mr Grumpy gets something to drink and announces that Andre the Giant played a Sasquatch on the Six Million Dollar Man. The man is obsessed. Big Foot Hunters, Looking for Big Foot, Who Wants to Marry a Big Foot, he’ll watch them all AND try to convince me that Big Foot is real. Come on! (OK, I just asked him to confirm his statement and he went on a several minute description of the episode and Andre’s role. Sigh.)

Anyway, it was generally a happy Princess Bride afternoon…until the Sasquatch invaded!

Leave a Reply

