reformedmarchingbandgeek

Confessions of a Reformed Marching Band Geek

Why I DON’T watch sports

on November 25, 2012

When Mr Grumpy and I first met I told him I wasn’t really in to sports. I’m not really. I couldn’t tell you what is going on. I couldn’t tell you where teams have moved to or who has changed their name. I couldn’t tell you who is playing today or what their record might be; except for yesterday.

Mr Grumpy and I both grew up in Ohio. I don’t know about where you live, but in Ohio it’s practically a state law that people back the Buckeyes. You’ll see people wearing Ohio State shirts, hats, jackets, etc. all year round. A good chunk of them never went there. Mr Grumpy and I fall into that category. We went to Ohio University (smaller, hillier, and more drinking. Not that I would know anything about the drinking, but I can say that OU was the number one party school for quite a few years. I’m pretty sure they’re still in the top five. Sadly I was too busy being a starving grad student to know anything about that. Mr Grumpy, on the other hand, may have plenty to share. If he could just remember).

Anyway, back to football. So yesterday was THE game. The ONLY game we generally care about during the year. Well, maybe along with the Super Bowl, but we don’t have a horse in the race there. Yesterday was Ohio State vs. Michigan. It is a HUGE rivalry. There are billboards about it,

commercials,

you name it, someone has probably thought about it. It’s pretty intense. My sister married someone from Michigan. She worked very hard to have my nephew’s first words be “Go Buckeyes”. They recently moved to Ann Arbor. We promptly told her that if she became a Michigan fan we’d throw her out of the family (OK I don’t think we’d throw her out for that. Other things, maybe, but not necessarily that. Not talk to her, quite possibly, but throw her out-probably not).

Sooooo, yesterday was THE game. We zipped home from a race I had in the morning to make sure we could watch. I, being the giant multi-tasker that I am, decided to “watch” while grading some assignments from my students. Mr Grumpy made it sound like he was watching but he was really taking a nap. Well, I should say that he was trying to take a nap because I kept yelling at people on the screen (and obviously not getting much grading done). “You can’t grab a guy by the mask and get away with it!” “What do you mean that might not count?!” “Run, run, run!” You get the idea.

Sports get WAY too intense for me. The World Series-if the Indians are playing I have to stop watching because I’m pretty sure we’ll have to get a new TV or a divorce (luckily or unluckily for us that doesn’t happen very often). Football-well, it’s only about Ohio State. Basketball- Ohio University was in March Madness this year. We never thought it would happen. We cleared our schedules to watch and when they made it to the Sweet 16 I thought I was going to pass out from the excitement. Luckily (or unluckily) they didn’t go further. I think I’d need a few days off to recover if they’d made it to the Final Four!

I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. I just don’t LIKE being so crazy in my emotions. Maybe I should just get back to HGTV. It makes Mr Grumpy crazy, but at least I’m not screaming at people all day. He could take a nap!

Leave a Reply

