reformedmarchingbandgeek

Confessions of a Reformed Marching Band Geek

Snow Day…or Not!

on January 26, 2013

I started a new post on Monday. Mr Grumpy argued with me about what I was going to talk about. I was going to do a little more research on it so I could be a little more factual, but then I decided that I was too tired and had too many other things to do so nothing happened. I may get back to it over the weekend. Or not. Sorry!

It snowed yesterday. The first real snow of the year which, of course, means that no one remembers how to drive. I live on a fairly busy street in our little town. The first plow came through around 8:00. My neighbor had been out shoveling for a while by then. My neighbor across the street has a massive snow blower. I really think it is more than the average snow fall in Chicagoland requires. He uses it for every measurable snow. I was shocked not to hear it yesterday morning. When I went out with the full expectation to chisel my car out to go to work, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was maybe an inch of snow. Really neighbors? Did we need to shovel for that? It will probably blow away by morning. Nuts!

Anyway, I brushed the snow off my car and went on my merry way. Sort of. The non-highway roads were fairly snow covered when I left around 8:45. Not super slippery, but enough to be cautious OR TO CRAWL if you were everyone else out there (with the exception of the dimwhit who was cutting people off on the little stretch of 5 lane road near the post office. There wasn’t really enough space for you to cut that guy off and you were going a little fast. Thank your lucky stars you weren’t clipped causing you to run into me. I would NOT have been happy). Argh! At least the roads were clear by the time I was done with my first client and I could get around fairly easily from there.

The best part is that now that this is out of our system everyone will return to their normal jerky driving selves. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

